2020 AGM Report

Musical Society Mildura held it’s annual general meeting on Tuesday 8th of September, and it was well attended by members and friends of the society. We must thank Glen Barrow and the Mildura Theatre Company for hosting the Zoom meeting and Peter Lang for chairing the meeting during the election of the new committee.

During the President’s report Matthew Capp spoke about the amazing achievements of the society over the last 12 months, as well as the challenges faced due to the COVID-19 pandemic. A positive outlook and a strong vision for the future is needed for the coming year to keep the society connected. Matthew thanked the Mildura Rural City Council for their continued work to find a suitable venue for rehearsals, and also to house the scenery and props.

Treasurer Bill Marriott discussed the financial report and what a strong position the society is in. During Bill’s first year as treasurer he was able to collate an asset register to properly reflect MSM’s true property value, amongst other things.

Thank you to outgoing committee members Tayla Farlie and Hope Follett for their 2 years of service, we wish them luck and success and hope to see them on the committee in the future.
We would also like to thank outgoing committee members Jan Marshall, Julie Maynard and Don Mayne for their service to the society not just for this year but for roughly a decade. Their input to the running and management of the society is immeasurable. They have assured us that they will still be involved in productions which we will be grateful for. Being a committee member can be quite draining at times and every now and then a break is needed to recharge the batteries and try new things. We would like to wish them all the success in whatever they decide to do with their regained ‘free time’.

We would like to announce the new committee appointed at the 2020 AGM:

President – Matthew Capp
Vice President – Clare Taylor
Secretary – Meg Smith
Treasurer – Bill Marriott
General Committee Members
Andrew Alderton, Beth Dunne, Louise Hodgetts, Emily Leon, Bill Lewis, Mary Manfield, Sarah Tomlinson

We are thrilled to welcome new members Louise, Emily and Sarah who come to us with a vast theatre background. A huge welcome back to Andrew who has returned to the committee after having a year break. We also thank Beth, Bill L, Mary, Bill M, Meg, Clare and Matt for returning to the committee.